Skip to content

Rhetorical Studies Reading Group

at the university of illinois

Happy October everyone! The Rhetorical Studies Reading Group is pleased to announce our first session of the fall semester: an RSRG with David Cisneros. Dr. Cisneros is a new addition to the Communication faculty and will be discussing chapters from his upcoming book, The Border Crossed Us: Rhetorics of Borders, Citizenship, and Latina/o Identity. 

We will meet October 17 from 11:30-1 in Lincoln Hall 4007.

We hope to see you there!

Here is a description from Dr. Cisneros of the two chapters:

These are two page proof chapters from my forthcoming book entitled The Border Crossed Us: Rhetorics of Borders, Citizenship, and Latina/o Identity, which is forthcoming with the University of Alabama Press late 2013 or early 2014. Basically, it explores rhetorical struggles over borders of nation, belonging, and citizenship. You can find out more about it here: http://uapress.ua.edu/product/Border-Crossed-Us,5763.aspx 

I chose two of the case study chapters because I thought they would be more interesting than the intro/conclusion and theoretical/conceptual stuff. These are the first and last case studies, respectively, so they’ll give you a sense of the range of the book and include a variety of different rhetorical methodologies that I employ in the broader project. Though they are part of a larger project, I think they can stand alone for the purposes of this meeting. I think these chapters will give you a sense my broader research interests, and during the meeting I can use them to talk about some of the projects I’m working on now.

